Welcome to Simply Daniel Radcliffe, your ultimate fan source for all things Daniel Radcliffe. Here you will find the latest news, images, videos, and much more on Dan. We are home to the largest gallery in the whole worldwide web with over 130,000 pictures including Events, Photoshoots, stage appearances. We hope you enjoy the site and come back soon.
4 Views
5 Views
1 Views
1 Views
3 Views
2 Views
The Missing Season
marcie - May 20, 2019 Book News , Release Day Blitz

I am so excited that THE MISSING SEASON by Gillian French is available now and that I get to share the news!If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author Gillian French, be sure to check out all the details below.This blitz also includes a giveaway for FOUR signed copies of the book, Us Only, courtesy of Gillian and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

Title: THE MISSING SEASON
Author: Gillian French
Pub. Date: May 21, 2019
Publisher: HarperTeen
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Pages: 304
Find it: GoodreadsAmazonKindleB&NiBooksKoboTBD

From the author of Edgar Award finalist Grit and The Lies They Tell comes a tense, atmospheric novel for fans of E. Lockhart and Marieke Nijkamp, about friendship, truth, and the creeping fears that can’t be outrun. 

Whenever another kid goes missing in October, the kids in the old factory town of Pender know what is really behind it: a monster out in the marshes that they call the Mumbler.

That’s what Clara’s new crew tells her when she moves to town. Bree and Sage, who take her under their wing. Spirited Trace, who has taken the lead on this year’s Halloween prank war. And magnetic Kincaid, whose devil-may-care attitude and air of mystery are impossible for Clara to resist.

Clara doesn’t actually believe in the Mumbler–not like Kinkaid does. But as Halloween gets closer and tensions build in the town, it’s hard to shake the feeling that there really is something dark and dangerous in Pender. Lurking in the shadows. Waiting to bring the stories to life.
Excerpt:“It’s sad, you coming here.” Kincaid takes me in, his smile fading. “Now you’ve got no chance.”

No chance. Like he read it in my tea leaves or the lines of my palm. “Why?”

“Because he only takes Pender kids. Likes our taste, I guess.” Kincaid drops his board, glides backward on one foot, never breaking eye contact. “Like . . . hopelessness.”

“And Steak-umms from the caf,” somebody says, making people snicker.

“Liver.” Trace shows his teeth. “God, I love that shit.”

“What about Gavin Cotswold?” Sage says. “Have they figured out how he died yet?”

“Mumbler got him.” Trace.

“He OD’d.” Bree gives Trace a withering look. “He went out in the woods, got fucked up, and died. His own mom thinks so.”

“I heard the animals didn’t leave enough of him behind to be sure.” Trace says. Then, to Kincaid, “Tell her about the first boy. Ricky Whoever.”

“Sartain. Ricky Sartain.” Behind Kincaid, most of the activity has stopped, everybody pulling up some concrete to listen. He’s holding court, a storyteller who knows his audience. “It all started, like, twenty years ago. Kid went missing two days before they found him on the banks of the marsh, way out by the railroad bridge.” Kincaid nods slowly, easing into it. “Somebody put their hands all over him.”

More covert laughter, Trace’s whisper: “Loved to death.”

Kincaid entwines his fingers, working his palms together in sinuous rhythm. “Squeezed him, crushed him. Mashed his spine, smashed his belly.”

A voice speaks up: “My mom said that kid got hit by the train.”

“Of course she did.” Kincaid doesn’t turn. “She also told you that Santa Claus is real and honesty is the best policy and if you’re good, you’ll get into heaven, right?”

Snorts. Somebody mimics, “But my mommy said,” whacking the boy who interrupted with a baseball cap.

“He was folded in half.” Sage grips Trace’s forearm. “That’s what I heard.”

“No.” Kincaid’s hands are tai chi slow. “Lengthwise.”

“Stop.” Bree says it under her breath; I’m the only one who hears.

“Ricky disappeared right around Halloween. That’s the pattern.” Kincaid skates a circuit around us, dismounts, and slaps the tail of the board so it pops into his hand again, all one smooth movement that I wish I could watch again frame by frame. “Truth. After, Ricky’s friends told everybody how they’d all gone out to the railroad bridge to smash pumpkins one night, and there was somebody hiding under there. Too dark to see, but they heard him, mumbling and yammering away.”

Yip, yip, yip! I look up to see audience participation, lumbering shapes aping around the others, sounding like a zoo after hours—Ahhh-ah-ah-ah! Mwaaa-hoohoo!

“Next time anybody saw Ricky, he was red guacamole.” Kincaid pauses, smiling faintly, but he’s not really seeing me now. “Ever since, Mumbler’s been around. Takes a bad kid every few years, always in October. Grown-ups have some bullshit excuse for what happened to them, but we know.”

Nods pass around the circle. I watch for inside looks—they’ll drop the act when they see I’m not taken in—but the quiet drags on. “What’s the Mumbler look like?” I hold
Kincaid’s gaze, willing him to let me in on this, let me prove I don’t scare easy. “So I’ll know him if I see him.”

Kincaid looks to Trace, again with the smile that creases his eyes into merry slits, a kid showing his little sister where Mom hides the Christmas presents. “We can take you to him.”

About Gillian

I’m a ridiculous, sometimes cranky, often hungry, frequently writing flibbertigibbet who really hopes she can keep doing this for a living.

My debut novel, GRIT (HarperTeen), was an Indie Next List pick, a Junior Library Guild Selection, received starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews and ALA Booklist, was an Edgar Award Finalist, a South Carolina Young Adult Book Award Finalist, and received both a 2018 Lupine Award from the Maine Library Association and a 2018 Maine Literary Award from the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance.

My other novels include THE DOOR TO JANUARY (Islandport Press; Bram Stoker Award Finalist), THE LIES THEY TELL (HarperTeen; 2019 International Thriller Award Finalist, 2019 Maine Literary Award Finalist, 2018 Junior Library Guild Selection), and THE MISSING SEASON (HarperTeen, coming 5/21/2019; preorder giveaway happening now). My short fiction has placed in Writer’s Digest and Zoetrope: All Story contests, as well as appearing in such publications as Weirdbook and Creepy Campfire Stories for Grownups.
I hold a BA in English from the University of Maine, and I’m a member of the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance, Mystery Writers of America, and the Society of Children’s Writers and Illustrators. Currently, I still live in my native state of Maine–shocker, I know–with my husband and sons, where I’m perpetually agonizing over my next novel (in the best possible way, of course!)

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | Amazon Author Page

Giveaway Details:

4 winners will win a signed finished copy of THE MISSING SEASON, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Site Advertisement
Events Calendar

No record found.

Shop with Amazon

Please view our Amazon Store Page and buy something for that special friend just click the button below.

Featured Product

Family


Elite Affiliates

Carbonell CentralEddie RedmayneEmma Watson NewsEmma Watson PortugalEmma Watson PortugalFlorian SilbereisenHarry Potter QuizzesJessica Brown FindlayJuno Temple NetworkLily James FranceMaisie Williams FanOnly AvrilSassy! Dress Like Emma


Top Affiliates

Rockstar Book Tours
Coming in May

View our Book Archive
Dan’s Official Website

Welcome to Dan’s Official Site. Since moving out from Google Plus and its services ended Dan’s management team made a website on Square Space. This is now his official site for news updates and much more.

https://www.danieljradcliffe.com/

Latest Projects
  • Episode 33: Episode 33 - Marc Mailley March 20, 2021
    Marc and David met many years ago and became friends immediately. They trained for the Stunt Register together and share many happy memories. In his interview Marc shares how he became a Stunt Performer and his progression to Head Rigger, then Stunt Coordinator, he also talks about some of the jobs he’s been involved with […]
Join us on Facebook

SDR on Graham Norton

Contribute

Help us expand Simply Daniel Radcliffe and make it the top fan resource for Daniel Radcliffe fans by donating content! What can you donate?

  • Fan Photos you took with Dan
  • Photos or videos from fan conventions
  • Event pics
  • Screen captures of projects we don’t have
  • Magazine scans
  • Photoshoots we haven’t traced yet
  • FanArt: drawings, wallpaper, icons, ect.

Send the content you wish to donate at simplydanielradcliffe@gmail.com with the subject ‘Contribution’. All donations will be 100% credited!

Join us on VK
Donate
If you like this site and visit it regularly, we would appreciate if you donate anything you can to help this site continue. Your donation will be used to help with hosting bills, domain name fees, magazines, dvd's and whatever else we need to make this site run the best for you. So please donate we need your help or buy me a coffee.
Featured GIF
Follow us on Twitter
Link Us
Fanlistings

Put your name on the list for your pairing or movie.

Dan & Dane DeHaan
Kill Your Darlings
What if
Horns

Go to the Fanlisting Collective for more

Stats
  • Webmistress: Marcie Lucas
  • Opened SDR: December 6, 2010
  • Online since: January 23, 2006
  • Formerly: Sparkling Illusions
  • Best Viewed: 1920x1080 Chrome
Flag Counter
Archive