Posted by marcie on April 17th, 2020Book Review
Book Review: No Nice Girl Swears

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the NO NICE GIRL SWEARS by Alice-Leone Moats Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!
 
About The Book:
Title: NO NICE GIRL SWEARS: Notes on High Society, Social Graces, and Keeping Your Wits from a Jazz-Age Debutante
Author: Alice-Leone Moats foreword by Stellene Volandes
Pub. Date: April 7, 2020
Publisher: Apollo Publishers
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Pages: 184
 
No Nice Girl Swears is the original, trailblazing guide to the “new etiquette,” brimming with timeless advice on style, romance, and grace, and finally back in print 90 years after its original release. Forewords by today’s editor in chief of Town & Country and the editor in chief of Vogue from 1914–1952.
 
Heralded as the go-to guide for soon-to-be debutantes and ladies who’d recently made their debut, No Nice Girl Swears ushered in a “new etiquette” on its release in 1933, much to the shock—and delight—of the high-society crowd of jazz-age America. Today it is equal parts time capsule (how to dress for dinner on your transatlantic voyage) and timeless missive (how to ditch a date who’s had a few too many).
 
Worldly-wise socialite Alice-Leone Moats advises on everything from style and dating to travel and party throwing, and weeds through the dos and don’ts of weddings, weekend trips, and the workplace. Her wisdom, though steeped in the charm of her time, endures: treat others—and yourself—with respect, always put your best foot forward, and don’t throw a party without champagne. It’s just good manners.
 
This keepsake volume includes a new foreword from Stellene Volandes, the editor in chief of Town & Country, the original foreword from Edna Woolman Chase, Vogue’s editor in chief from 1914–1952, and a contextualizing preface. It encourages consideration of what etiquette rules we’d like instilled today, and shows how Moats helped usher in a world where women could speak—and act—freely.
 
“A book of modern etiquette for the modern debutante and sub deb, with an eye on her mother. Definitely keyed to the city and suburban communities, rather than the small town. Humor and commonsense combined in due proportion in answering such questions as: Shall I ask him in? May I call you up some time? What is the technique of being picked up? What should be done if my escort passes out on me? And so on. In addition, the author gives the latest usage in the matter of debutante parties, chaperonage (you’d be surprised!), engagements, weddings, clothes, week-end parties, and other contingencies. In good taste, and yet distinctly smart. The book itself is another experiment in colored stock—yellow this time—but since the books are to be sealed with cellophane wrappers, the prospective buyer wont know what she is getting until the purchase is made.”
Kirkus Review
 
“In spite of such reminiscent titles of ‘Shall She Ask Him In?’ and ‘Never Speak To Strangers Unless They Speak to You,’ these chapters contain serious advice—the pragmatism of it all cloaked in a flippant and humor-flecked style.”
New York Times
 
Excerpt:
 
 
Review: This book is a timeless piece, a guide to what woman went through back in the old days. It states how things were and what you were supposed to do, but in this day and age everything has changed. I found the customs in this book were rather odd, but viable. If you want to give yourself a history lesson this is one way to do it. My Rating: 4 Stars
 
About Alice:

 

Alice-Leone Moats (1908–1989) was an American journalist and author who was born in Mexico to wealthy and socially prominent American parents. She attended convent schools in Mexico City, Rome and Paris, as well as the Brearley School in Manhattan and the Fermata School for Girls in Aiken, South Carolina.
 
 
 
Publisher Info:

Giveaway Details:
One lucky winner will receive a $10 Amazon GC, International.
 
 
 
 
Tour Schedule:
Week One:
3/30/2020
Excerpt
3/31/2020
Excerpt
4/1/2020
Excerpt
4/2/2020
Excerpt
4/3/2020
Review
 
Week Two:
4/6/2020
Review
4/7/2020
Excerpt
4/8/2020
Review
4/9/2020
Review
4/10/2020
Review
 
Week Three:
4/13/2020
Review
4/14/2020
Review
4/15/2020
Excerpt
4/16/2020
Excerpt
4/17/2020
Review

Site Advertisement
Welcome to SDR
Welcome to Simply Daniel Radcliffe, your online resource dedicated to the British Actor Daniel Radcliffe. You may know Dan from his roles in "Harry Potter", "Swiss Army Man", "Horns" and many more. Here you will find the latest news, images, and videos,. We are home to the largest gallery in the whole worldwide web with over 124,000 pictures including photo shoots, performances and events. We hope you enjoy your stay!
Shop With Amazon

We have a list of products to share with you so view our Amazon Page and buy something for that special friend just click the button below.

Featured Products

Try Prime Discounted Monthly Offering

Rockstar Book Tours
Coming in September


View our Book Archive
Family


 

Elite Affiliates
Adoring Michelle DockeryEddie RedmayneEmma Watson NewsEmma Watson PortugalEmma Watson PortugalFlorian SilbereisenHarry Potter QuizzesJessica Brown FindlayJuno Temple NetworkLily James FranceMaisie Williams FanOnly AvrilSassy! Dress Like Emma

Top Affiliates
Dan’s Official Website

Welcome to Dan’s Official Site. Since moving out from Google Plus and its services ended Dan’s management team made a website on SquareSpace. This is now his official site for news updates and much more.

https://www.danieljradcliffe.com/

  • Episode 15 - Vic Armstrong September 19, 2020
    Get ready to hear some Movie Memory Magic, including tales about Superman, Indian Jones, Spielberg, Scorsese, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Harrison Ford. Vic once dreamed of becoming a Jockey, one day he took a job riding a horse on a Film Set and since then he has performed on some of the most iconic films of […]
Latest Projects
  • Escape from Pretoria
    Escape from Pretoria 2020
    Tim Jenkin
    Tim Jenkin, one of two 20-something white South Africans branded as terrorists and imprisoned in 1978 for being involved in covert anti-apartheid operations for the African National Congress. Jailed in the Pretoria Maximum Security Prison, the pair decide to send the regime a clear message and plan an escape.
  • Guns Akimbo
    Guns Akimbo 2020
    Miles
    GUNS AKIMBO follows a man whose mundane existence is turned upside-down when he finds himself enrolled on a dark net website that forces complete strangers to fight in a city-wide game of death, so that their gladiatorial battles can be live-streamed worldwide to a fanatical audience. After being pitted against a seemingly unstoppable killing machine, he at first manages to avoid conflict, but when his ex-girlfriend is kidnapped, he must overcome his fears and stop running.
  • Miracle Workers: Dark Ages
    Miracle Workers: Dark Ages 2020
    Prince Chauncley
    Daniel Radcliffe, Steve Buscemi, Geraldine Viswanathan, Karan Soni, Jon Bass and Lolly Adefope return in new roles and face new challenges as a group of medieval villagers who are trying to stay positive in an age of extreme income inequality, poor healthcare and widespread ignorance.
Featured Albums
Join us on Facebook
SDR on Graham Norton
Contribute

Help us expand Simply Daniel Radcliffe and make it the top fan resource for Daniel Radcliffe fans by donating content! What can you donate?

  • Fan Photos you took with Dan
  • Photos or videos from fan conventions
  • Event pics
  • Screen captures of projects we don’t have
  • Magazine scans
  • Photoshoots we haven’t traced yet
  • FanArt: drawings, wallpaper, icons, ect.

Send the content you wish to donate at simplydanielradcliffe@gmail.com with the subject ‘Contribution’. All donations will be 100% credited!

Donate
If you like this site and visit it regularly, we would appreciate if you donate anything you can to help this site continue. Your donation will be used to help with hosting bills, domain name fees, magazines, dvd's and whatever else we need to make this site run the best for you. So please donate we need your help or buy me a coffee.
Featured GIF
Follow us on Twitter
Link Us
Fanlistings

Put your name on the list for your pairing or movie.

Dan & Dane DeHaan
Kill Your Darlings
What if
Horns

Go to the Fanlisting Collective for more

Stats
  • Webmistress: Marcie Lucas
  • Opened SDR: December 6, 2010
  • Online since: January 23, 2006
  • Formerly: Sparkling Illusions
  • Best Viewed: 1920x1080 Chrome
Flag Counter
Archive


1 Views
3 Views
2 Views
3 Views
2 Views
3 Views
3 Views
1 Views
2 Views
1 Views