Welcome to Simply Daniel Radcliffe, your ultimate fan source for all things Daniel Radcliffe. Here you will find the latest news, images, videos, and much more on Dan. We are home to the largest gallery in the whole worldwide web with over 130,000 pictures including Events, Photoshoots, stage appearances. We hope you enjoy the site and come back soon.
5 Views
1 Views
2 Views
4 Views
6 Views
2 Views
Book Review: Scheme
marcie - Apr 21, 2020 Book Review
I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the SCHEME by Jennifer Sommersby Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

About The Book:
Title: SCHEME (AVRA-K #2)
Author: Jennifer Sommersby
Pub. Date: April 21, 2020
Publisher: Sky Pony Press 
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Pages: 456

The key to good is found in truth.

Genevieve may have left the circus behind in Oregon, but there is plenty of show still to come.

When she and Henry land in France, they are whisked away to Croix-Mare, the home of Henry’s grandfather, Nutesh, where they will prepare for a journey they never could’ve imagined. Now that they have all three AVRAKEDAVRA texts—Life, Death, and Memory—the books must be destroyed in the Undoing.

However, it’s not as simple as taking the books to their birthplace in Babylon and setting them alight. Genevieve and Henry must rely on unexpected allies as they embark on a harrowing global search to acquire pieces necessary to complete the Undoing. They’re offered cover and protection by La Vérité, the secret network of followers devoted to the message of the AVRAKEDAVRA, who, not surprisingly, are found under the big top—because no one does underground quite like the circus.

But loyalties among the magical community are fragile. Genevieve, still grieving the loss of her mother, now struggles to control the new AVRAKEDAVRA-bestowed gifts, and with mounting threats to her psyche and body, she clings mightily to the promise of a brighter future once this is over—if they can survive it. And Henry, broken by his father’s treachery but entranced by the heartwarming connection his family’s text has granted him, grapples with the fact that once they succeed in destroying the books, he’ll lose the only family he has left.

Together, our two young heirs will learn that when hope has abandoned us, the overwhelming love of friendship and family is all the magic we need.

About Book 1:
Title: SLEIGHT (AVRA-K #1)
Author: Jennifer Sommersby
Pub. Date: April 24, 2018
Publisher: Sky Pony Press 
Formats: Hardcover, eBook
Pages: 424

Delia smiles at the shadow only she sees—

Something slams into her. The lyra whirls like a half-dollar spinning on its edge.

My mother is thrown backward.

And she falls.

Growing up in the Cinzio Traveling Players Company, Genevieve Flannery is accustomed to a life most teenagers could never imagine: daily workouts of extravagant acrobatics; an extended family of clowns; wild animals for pets; and her mother, Delia, whose mind has always been tortured by visions—but whose love Geni never questions. In a world of performers who astonish and amaze on a daily basis, Delia’s ghostly hallucinations never seemed all that strange . . . until the evening Geni and her mother are performing an aerial routine they’ve done hundreds of times, and Delia falls to her death.

That night, a dark curtain in Geni’s life opens. Everything has changed.

Still reeling from the tragedy, the Cinzio Traveling Players are also adjusting to the circus’s new owner: a generous, mysterious man whose connection to the circus—Geni suspects—has a dark and dangerous history. And suddenly Geni is stumbling into a new reality of her own, her life interrupted daily by the terrors only Delia used to be able to see.

As the visions around her grow stronger, Geni isn’t sure who she can trust. Even worse, she’s starting to question whether she can trust her own mind.

Praise for Sleight

“Jennifer Sommersby’s Sleight makes magic from an enthralling premise, wonderfully-drawn characters, and beautiful words. It’s hard to avoid descriptors like entrancing, spell-binding and mystical.” —Michael Grant, New York Times bestselling author of the Gone series

“Fantasy readers will fall in love with Sleight. Like a circus, it’s an intoxicating mix of beauty, humor, magic, and danger that means the reader can’t bear to look away until the final page.” —Eileen Cook, author of With Malice

“Startlingly imaginative and vividly realized.” —Ira Bloom, author of Hearts & Other Body Parts

Review: This book is the next chapter into the Saga of the Sleight the book I read a while back. It brought new characters and opened up the world to this incredible story. If you are excited to read this please do. Jennifer is a wonder to the reading community. She brings fantasy in a whole different way. In this you learn new secrets to Gen’s past what happened to the scarred Lion when she was 5 and so much more. So check it out.

About Jennifer:

Really, though, who am I? How about a list? We Virgos tend to like lists:
  • Writer, copy/line editor (www.plumfieldediting.com)
  • I reside in the Great White North, though the webbed feet prove that I originate from Portland, Oregon. Last U.S. address was Los Angeles. No, I do not miss the traffic. (Although Vancouver is #2 in North America for Worst Traffic Ever.) I do miss California’s awesome beaches.
  • I write under the pen name Eliza Gordon for non-YA titles — romantic comedies and Happily Ever Afters. (These books are NOT for kids. Mature themes, adult language, super-inappropriate jokes that will make you giggle. Well, I hope.)
  • Member of SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators)
  • Member of the eight-person fiction cohort of the 2007 Writer’s Studio at Simon Fraser University
  • Studied copy and substantive editing (2005-06) at Simon Fraser University in Vancouver. As a writer, I have worked with and studied the practices of some of the best editors in the publishing industry. #luckyJenn 
  • Studied English, political science, and criminology via Washington State University
  •  I’m called Mom by three brilliant babies.
  • I will never join the PTA or PAC, so please, don’t ask. I also don’t do candle, jewelry, or clothing parties. Thanks, though. I’m sure the finger sandwiches are delicious.
  • I used to do all of my first-draft writing in the car, at night, in the parking lot of my favorite coffee shop. These days I write where it’s quietest — home, or my local coffee shop.
  • I buy a lot of books. A LOT. No, seriously. I have a problem.
  • I am a soundtrack/movie score JUNKIE. Hans Zimmer and Alexandre Desplat and Sonya Belousova and the Greyson-William brothers and Ramin Djawadi … and HARRY ESCOTT. *swoon* He followed me back on Twitter and I almost died. Almost. If you ever need movie score recommendations, I AM YOUR PERSON.
  • I am obsessed with elephants and otters. I’d like to smooch one of each someday. 
  • Cat person. The household is ruled by an overweight tuxedo cat named Nuit and her very energetic little sister, Rosie Cotton (named after Samwise Gamgee’s wife from Lord of the Rings). 
  • I love coffee, Shakespeare (!!!), Joan of Arc, most things pastry, MOVIES (oh man I love movies so much), the Golden Rule, and bloody good writing. 
  • I am Team Superman all the way. I wear the same outfit every day: a Superman T-shirt and jeans, and I have a very cool Superman tattoo inspired by the artwork of comic book artist Jim Lee.
  • I adore Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit — and I ship Kili + Tauriel forever, and I don’t care if Tauriel wasn’t in original Hobbit story. story. <3 #Aragon #Thorin #Kili #Fili
  • I now have five tattoos, including the Dwarvish script from Kili’s rune stone (from Desolation of Smaug). I waited until my 30s to get my first tattoo, just to be sure I wouldn’t regret it.
  • Muses help me write — I have many. I love movie stars!
  • I hate thunderstorms, paperwork, people lacking humility, lazy writers with a sense of entitlement, and going to the dentist. Oh, and bad drivers. THE BAD DRIVERS TURN ME INTO A RAGE STORM OF CALAMITOUS DOOM.





  • Giveaway Details: International
    1 winner will receive a $10 Amazon GC, International.


    Tour Schedule:
    Week One:
    4/13/2020
    Excerpt
    4/13/2020
    Excerpt
    4/14/2020
    Excerpt
    4/14/2020
    Excerpt
    4/15/2020
    Excerpt
    4/15/2020
    Excerpt
    4/16/2020
    Excerpt
    4/16/2020
    Excerpt
    4/17/2020
    Excerpt
    4/17/2020
    Excerpt

    Week Two:
    4/20/2020
    Excerpt
    4/20/2020
    Excerpt
    4/21/2020
    Review
    4/21/2020
    Review
    4/22/2020
    Excerpt
    4/22/2020
    Review
    4/23/2020
    Review
    4/23/2020
    Review
    4/24/2020
    Review
    4/24/2020
    Review

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Site Advertisement
    Events Calendar

    No record found.

    Shop with Amazon

    Please view our Amazon Store Page and buy something for that special friend just click the button below.

    Featured Product

    Family


    Elite Affiliates

    Adoring Michelle DockeryBTS Fans OnlineCarbonell CentralEddie RedmayneEmma Watson NewsEmma Watson PortugalEmma Watson PortugalFlorian SilbereisenHarry Potter QuizzesJessica Brown FindlayJuno Temple NetworkLily James FranceMaisie Williams FanOnly AvrilSassy! Dress Like Emma


    Top Affiliates

    Rockstar Book Tours
    Coming in March

    View our Book Archive
    Dan’s Official Website

    Welcome to Dan’s Official Site. Since moving out from Google Plus and its services ended Dan’s management team made a website on Square Space. This is now his official site for news updates and much more.

    https://www.danieljradcliffe.com/

    Latest Projects
    • Episode 33: Episode 33 - Marc Mailley March 20, 2021
      Marc and David met many years ago and became friends immediately. They trained for the Stunt Register together and share many happy memories. In his interview Marc shares how he became a Stunt Performer and his progression to Head Rigger, then Stunt Coordinator, he also talks about some of the jobs he’s been involved with […]
    Join us on Facebook

    SDR on Graham Norton

    Contribute

    Help us expand Simply Daniel Radcliffe and make it the top fan resource for Daniel Radcliffe fans by donating content! What can you donate?

    • Fan Photos you took with Dan
    • Photos or videos from fan conventions
    • Event pics
    • Screen captures of projects we don’t have
    • Magazine scans
    • Photoshoots we haven’t traced yet
    • FanArt: drawings, wallpaper, icons, ect.

    Send the content you wish to donate at simplydanielradcliffe@gmail.com with the subject ‘Contribution’. All donations will be 100% credited!

    Join us on VK
    Donate
    If you like this site and visit it regularly, we would appreciate if you donate anything you can to help this site continue. Your donation will be used to help with hosting bills, domain name fees, magazines, dvd's and whatever else we need to make this site run the best for you. So please donate we need your help or buy me a coffee.
    Featured GIF
    Follow us on Twitter
    Link Us
    Fanlistings

    Put your name on the list for your pairing or movie.

    Dan & Dane DeHaan
    Kill Your Darlings
    What if
    Horns

    Go to the Fanlisting Collective for more

    Stats
    • Webmistress: Marcie Lucas
    • Opened SDR: December 6, 2010
    • Online since: January 23, 2006
    • Formerly: Sparkling Illusions
    • Best Viewed: 1920x1080 Chrome
    Flag Counter
    Archive