Posted by marcie on April 25th, 2018Book Review
Sleight Book Review

Sleight Book Cover Sleight
Jennifer Sommersby
Young Adult Fiction
Sky Pony Press
April 24, 2018
Paperback, eBook
424

Delia smiles at the shadow only she sees—

Something slams into her. The lyra whirls like a half-dollar spinning on its edge.

My mother is thrown backward.

And she falls.

Growing up in the Cinzio Traveling Players Company, Genevieve Flannery is accustomed to a life most teenagers could never imagine: daily workouts of extravagant acrobatics; an extended family of clowns; wild animals for pets; and her mother, Delia, whose mind has always been tortured by visions—but whose love Geni never questions. In a world of performers who astonish and amaze on a daily basis, Delia’s ghostly hallucinations never seemed all that strange . . . until the evening Geni and her mother are performing an aerial routine they’ve done hundreds of times, and Delia falls to her death.

That night, a dark curtain in Geni’s life opens. Everything has changed.

Still reeling from the tragedy, the Cinzio Traveling Players are also adjusting to the circus’s new owner: a generous, mysterious man whose connection to the circus—Geni suspects—has a dark and dangerous history. And suddenly Geni is stumbling into a new reality of her own, her life interrupted daily by the terrors only Delia used to be able to see.

As the visions around her grow stronger, Geni isn’t sure who she can trust. Even worse, she’s starting to question whether she can trust her own mind.

About Jennifer:

I am a writer, copy/line editor, bibliophile, and mom of four living in the Great White North.

Represented by Victoria Doherty Munro at Writers House.

Romantic comedies under Eliza Gordon.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads

 

My Review:

When reading Sleight you get lost in the awe of the circus. I myself as a child loved the circus and what captivated me most was the elephants of course. Sommersby visualizes every aspect of the characters along with the animals. She really put a lot of attention to detail which made you see everything as if you were right there with Genevieve, the main character of the book.

The book was a tale that made your inner child come out. Though the sadness and the lost Genevieve experienced was really a tragic blow to her world. She felt lost and with that you can sense the sadness and the pain Genevieve is going through having no idea the mysteries that are to come.

I think Sommersby really wrote an amazing book. Her author’s note gave you more about the mythological aspect she wrote about. To me that is the greatness of being a good author. To do the research and to led you into an adventure to find one’s own family history and the character’s supportiveness when times were dark. For me I liked the connection between Geni and Baby even though they weren’t related it was almost like they were. Their ability to rely on each other when something happened and to count on each other. That was a treasure to read.

See the Trailer

Giveaway Details: International
3 winners will receive a SLEIGHT Prize Pack including a finished copy of the book and swag! International.

Ends on May 4th at Midnight EST!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Week One

4/2/2018- Novel Novice– Guest Post
4/3/2018- Adventures Thru Wonderland– Review
4/4/2018- For the Love of KidLit– Interview
4/5/2018- Two Points of Interest– Review
4/6/2018- BookHounds YA– Interview

Week Two

4/9/2018- RhythmicBooktrovert– Review
4/10/2018- Two Chicks on Books– Guest Post
4/11/2018- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review
4/12/2018- Page Turners Blog– Excerpt
4/13/2018- Eating Between The Lines– Review

Week Three

4/16/2018- Wonder Struck– Review
4/17/2018- Jena Brown Writes– Review
4/18/2018- Blushing Bibliophile– Review
4/19/2018- Reading with Rendz– Review
4/20/2018- Daily Waffle – Interview

Week Four

4/23/2018- The Desert Bibliophile– Review
4/24/2018- Kati’s Bookaholic Rambling Reviews- Excerpt
4/25/2018- Simply Daniel Radcliffe– Review
4/26/2018-Margies Must Reads– Excerpt
4/27/2018- The Book Nut– Review

Week Five

4/30/2018- Book-Keeping– Review


Site Advertisement
Welcome to SDR
Welcome to Simply Daniel Radcliffe, your online resource dedicated to the British Actor Daniel Radcliffe. You may know Dan from his roles in "Harry Potter", "Swiss Army Man", "Horns" and many more. Here you will find the latest news, images, and videos,. We are home to the largest gallery in the whole worldwide web with over 124,000 pictures including photo shoots, performances and events. We hope you enjoy your stay!
Shop With Amazon

We have a list of products to share with you so view our Amazon Page and buy something for that special friend just click the button below.

Featured Products

Try Prime Discounted Monthly Offering

Rockstar Book Tours
Coming in September


View our Book Archive
Family


 

Elite Affiliates
Adoring Michelle DockeryEddie RedmayneEmma Watson NewsEmma Watson PortugalEmma Watson PortugalFlorian SilbereisenHarry Potter QuizzesJessica Brown FindlayJuno Temple NetworkLily James FranceMaisie Williams FanOnly AvrilSassy! Dress Like Emma

Top Affiliates
Dan’s Official Website

Welcome to Dan’s Official Site. Since moving out from Google Plus and its services ended Dan’s management team made a website on SquareSpace. This is now his official site for news updates and much more.

https://www.danieljradcliffe.com/

  • Episode 15 - Vic Armstrong September 19, 2020
    Get ready to hear some Movie Memory Magic, including tales about Superman, Indian Jones, Spielberg, Scorsese, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Harrison Ford. Vic once dreamed of becoming a Jockey, one day he took a job riding a horse on a Film Set and since then he has performed on some of the most iconic films of […]
Latest Projects
  • Escape from Pretoria
    Escape from Pretoria 2020
    Tim Jenkin
    Tim Jenkin, one of two 20-something white South Africans branded as terrorists and imprisoned in 1978 for being involved in covert anti-apartheid operations for the African National Congress. Jailed in the Pretoria Maximum Security Prison, the pair decide to send the regime a clear message and plan an escape.
  • Guns Akimbo
    Guns Akimbo 2020
    Miles
    GUNS AKIMBO follows a man whose mundane existence is turned upside-down when he finds himself enrolled on a dark net website that forces complete strangers to fight in a city-wide game of death, so that their gladiatorial battles can be live-streamed worldwide to a fanatical audience. After being pitted against a seemingly unstoppable killing machine, he at first manages to avoid conflict, but when his ex-girlfriend is kidnapped, he must overcome his fears and stop running.
  • Miracle Workers: Dark Ages
    Miracle Workers: Dark Ages 2020
    Prince Chauncley
    Daniel Radcliffe, Steve Buscemi, Geraldine Viswanathan, Karan Soni, Jon Bass and Lolly Adefope return in new roles and face new challenges as a group of medieval villagers who are trying to stay positive in an age of extreme income inequality, poor healthcare and widespread ignorance.
Featured Albums
Join us on Facebook
SDR on Graham Norton
Contribute

Help us expand Simply Daniel Radcliffe and make it the top fan resource for Daniel Radcliffe fans by donating content! What can you donate?

  • Fan Photos you took with Dan
  • Photos or videos from fan conventions
  • Event pics
  • Screen captures of projects we don’t have
  • Magazine scans
  • Photoshoots we haven’t traced yet
  • FanArt: drawings, wallpaper, icons, ect.

Send the content you wish to donate at simplydanielradcliffe@gmail.com with the subject ‘Contribution’. All donations will be 100% credited!

Donate
If you like this site and visit it regularly, we would appreciate if you donate anything you can to help this site continue. Your donation will be used to help with hosting bills, domain name fees, magazines, dvd's and whatever else we need to make this site run the best for you. So please donate we need your help or buy me a coffee.
Featured GIF
Follow us on Twitter
Link Us
Fanlistings

Put your name on the list for your pairing or movie.

Dan & Dane DeHaan
Kill Your Darlings
What if
Horns

Go to the Fanlisting Collective for more

Stats
  • Webmistress: Marcie Lucas
  • Opened SDR: December 6, 2010
  • Online since: January 23, 2006
  • Formerly: Sparkling Illusions
  • Best Viewed: 1920x1080 Chrome
Flag Counter
Archive


1 Views
3 Views
2 Views
3 Views
2 Views
3 Views
3 Views
1 Views
2 Views
1 Views