Posted by marcie on October 16th, 2017Book Review , Jungle , Movies
Rockstar Book Tours : Jungle Review

JUNGLE Movie Tie-In Edition Book Cover JUNGLE Movie Tie-In Edition
Yossi Ghinsberg, Daniel Radcliffe (Foreword), Greg McLean (Introduction)
Biography & Autobiography
Skyhorse Publishing
October 17, 2017
Paperback
324

Four travelers meet in Bolivia and set off into the heart of the Amazon rainforest, but what begins as a dream adventure quickly deteriorates into a dangerous nightmare, and after weeks of wandering in the dense undergrowth, the four backpackers split up into two groups. But when a terrible rafting accident separates him from his partner, Yossi is forced to survive for weeks alone against one of the wildest backdrops on the planet. Stranded without a knife, map, or survival training, he must improvise shelter and forage for wild fruit to survive. As his feet begin to rot during raging storms, as he loses all sense of direction, and as he begins to lose all hope, he wonders whether he will make it out of the jungle alive.

The basis of an upcoming motion picture starring Daniel Radcliffe, Jungle is the story of friendship and the teachings of nature, and a terrifying true account that you won’t be able to put down.

About Yossi:

Yossi Ghinsberg is an Israeli adventurer, author, entrepreneur, humanitarian, and motivational speaker based in Australia. Ghinsberg is most known for his survival story of when he was stranded in an uncharted part of the Bolivian Amazon jungle for three weeks in 1981.

Yossi’s book ‘Jungle,’ is published in over 20 languages and distributed worldwide with millions of copies sold. Published by Random House, Pan Macmillan, National Geographic, Penguin, Summersdale and Skyhorse amongst others and critically reviewed and acclaimed by the LA Times, The Washington Post, CNN and many others.

The book’s adaptation was one of the core episodes for a Discovery Channel acclaimed series “I shouldn’t Be Alive”. And in April 2017 a motion picture based on ‘Jungle’ premieres at the Tribeca Film Festival. Starring Daniel Radcliffe as Yossi.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube | Goodreads

My Review

When I first started reading this I didn’t know what to expect. I remember seeing way before the novel about Yossi’s journey on a television show called “I Shouldn’t Be Alive”. They cut it down to what really happened. But what I’ve read in the first few pages was his journey on how he met Marcus and Kevin. How they bonded and became friends. There’s a lot of details in the book that I didn’t get to see in the television show so reading the book gave more insight.

We often think would we be able to survive in that kind of environment. Not I. But Yossi’s strength to survive is what is miraculous. The pages of the book from the beginning were like fun and good times with fellow travelers. Marcus really sounded like a nice guy. The kind of friend who would help you out when you needed it. Later on as they travel to the jungle you find out how their relationship is affected. How they didn’t have much food when they were traveling having only one meal a day. They were literally starving.

With no food and having to survive in the jungle eating chicken, monkey’s, sloth, a goose and rice. Marcus lost weight not eating while Yossi and Kevin ate. Karl never complained as they traveled. Their long journey from one village to the other gave them hope in the beginning. But when Karl kept mentioning that they were almost there. Things changed and so did Marcus’s friendship with Yossi and Kevin.

The book has many details and its been very intriguing as you read page after page. I really liked getting to know Yossi, Marcus and Kevin. Though I kind of wondered what Karl’s real intention was. We’ll never know, but the things Yossi did to survive. For me the most frightening part of it was the sound of the Jaguar. Now that I read the book and seen the TV show it gave me the entire picture of what happened. I really liked it. I would like to thank Rockstar Book Tours, Skyhorse Publishing and Yossi Ghinsberg for giving me a chance to review this. If you’re curious about Yossi’s journey on his survival in the Amazon Rainforest get the book.

Movie Trailer

Giveaway
3 winners will receive a finished copy of the JUNGLE Movie Tie-In Edition, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:
10/9/2017- YA Books Central- Interview
10/10/2017- A Dream Within A Dream- Review
10/11/2017- Rainy Day Reviews- Excerpt
10/12/2017- Texan Girl Reads- Review
10/13/2017- Margie’s Must Reads- Excerpt

Week Two:
10/16/2017- Simply Daniel Radcliffe- Review
10/17/2017- BookHounds YA- Guest Post
10/18/2017- Wonder Struck- Review
10/19/2017- YA and Wine- Interview
10/20/2017- A Gingerly Review- Review


Site Advertisement
Welcome to SDR
Welcome to Simply Daniel Radcliffe, your online resource dedicated to the British Actor Daniel Radcliffe. You may know Dan from his roles in "Harry Potter", "Swiss Army Man", "Horns" and many more. Here you will find the latest news, images, and videos,. We are home to the largest gallery in the whole worldwide web with over 130,000 pictures including photo shoots, appearances and events. We hope you enjoy your stay!
Shop With Amazon

We have a list of products to share with you so view our Amazon Page and buy something for that special friend just click the button below.

Featured Products

Try Prime Discounted Monthly Offering

Rockstar Book Tours
Coming in September


View our Book Archive
Family


 

Elite Affiliates
Adoring Michelle DockeryEddie RedmayneEmma Watson NewsEmma Watson PortugalEmma Watson PortugalFlorian SilbereisenHarry Potter QuizzesJessica Brown FindlayJuno Temple NetworkLily James FranceMaisie Williams FanOnly AvrilSassy! Dress Like Emma

Top Affiliates
Dan’s Official Website

Welcome to Dan’s Official Site. Since moving out from Google Plus and its services ended Dan’s management team made a website on SquareSpace. This is now his official site for news updates and much more.

https://www.danieljradcliffe.com/

  • Episode 15 - Vic Armstrong September 19, 2020
    Get ready to hear some Movie Memory Magic, including tales about Superman, Indian Jones, Spielberg, Scorsese, Arnold Schwarzenegger and Harrison Ford. Vic once dreamed of becoming a Jockey, one day he took a job riding a horse on a Film Set and since then he has performed on some of the most iconic films of […]
Latest Projects
  • Escape from Pretoria
    Escape from Pretoria 2020
    Tim Jenkin
    Tim Jenkin, one of two 20-something white South Africans branded as terrorists and imprisoned in 1978 for being involved in covert anti-apartheid operations for the African National Congress. Jailed in the Pretoria Maximum Security Prison, the pair decide to send the regime a clear message and plan an escape.
  • Guns Akimbo
    Guns Akimbo 2020
    Miles
    GUNS AKIMBO follows a man whose mundane existence is turned upside-down when he finds himself enrolled on a dark net website that forces complete strangers to fight in a city-wide game of death, so that their gladiatorial battles can be live-streamed worldwide to a fanatical audience. After being pitted against a seemingly unstoppable killing machine, he at first manages to avoid conflict, but when his ex-girlfriend is kidnapped, he must overcome his fears and stop running.
  • Miracle Workers: Dark Ages
    Miracle Workers: Dark Ages 2020
    Prince Chauncley
    Daniel Radcliffe, Steve Buscemi, Geraldine Viswanathan, Karan Soni, Jon Bass and Lolly Adefope return in new roles and face new challenges as a group of medieval villagers who are trying to stay positive in an age of extreme income inequality, poor healthcare and widespread ignorance.
Featured Albums
Join us on Facebook
SDR on Graham Norton
Contribute

Help us expand Simply Daniel Radcliffe and make it the top fan resource for Daniel Radcliffe fans by donating content! What can you donate?

  • Fan Photos you took with Dan
  • Photos or videos from fan conventions
  • Event pics
  • Screen captures of projects we don’t have
  • Magazine scans
  • Photoshoots we haven’t traced yet
  • FanArt: drawings, wallpaper, icons, ect.

Send the content you wish to donate at simplydanielradcliffe@gmail.com with the subject ‘Contribution’. All donations will be 100% credited!

Donate
If you like this site and visit it regularly, we would appreciate if you donate anything you can to help this site continue. Your donation will be used to help with hosting bills, domain name fees, magazines, dvd's and whatever else we need to make this site run the best for you. So please donate we need your help or buy me a coffee.
Featured GIF
Follow us on Twitter
Link Us
Fanlistings

Put your name on the list for your pairing or movie.

Dan & Dane DeHaan
Kill Your Darlings
What if
Horns

Go to the Fanlisting Collective for more

Stats
  • Webmistress: Marcie Lucas
  • Opened SDR: December 6, 2010
  • Online since: January 23, 2006
  • Formerly: Sparkling Illusions
  • Best Viewed: 1920x1080 Chrome
Flag Counter
Archive


1 Views
0 Views
0 Views
0 Views
0 Views
1 Views
1 Views
3 Views
2 Views
3 Views